Zipp – German-Czech Cultural Projects /


Life-worlds /

Utopia of Modernity: Zlín /

Kafka /

1968|1989 /

An initiative of the
Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Foto ©  Bas Princen, 2009

International Symposium A Utopia of Modernity : Zlín

19.05.2009 - 23.05.2009, Prague and Zlín

Today the Czech city of Zlín is two things at once: a historically important architectural monument and a dynamic city boasting an energetic social and commercial life, the location of the Tomáš Baťa University, where some 10,000 students are currently enrolled. Built by the Baťa shoe company in the 1920s as a factory city where living and working were to enter into a perfect symbiosis, Zlín possesses a rich architectural and intellectual heritage still very much in evidence today.

Zlín is a prime example of a planned city in which all aspects of life, namely domestic living, education, and leisure time, were geared towards a single goal - optimizing the efficiency of a rapidly expanding shoe company. This constitutes its current relevance for city planners and architects. Located in south-eastern Moravia, this modern planned city is unique in Europe. Following the model developed by Henry Ford, workers manufactured shoes on the assembly line, the success of the product soon turning the Baťa brand into a worldwide name.

The symposium featuring prominent international scholars and theorists pursued the question if Zlín is relevant for issues currently faced by city planners and architects and thus represents a learning model for the future. From a contemporary perspective Zlín is an irritating example, for it concords neither with the critical articulations of Postmodernism, nor with the certainties proclaimed by defenders of Modernity. The key issues discussed were the legacy of Fordism, post-socialist structural change, architectural branding and corporate identity - and last but by no means least, the place of social-utopian thinking in our present age.

These considerations were not pursued merely in abstract discussions, but intensified by impressions on the ground. The symposium was therefore not conceived as a self-enclosed event, but was augmented with Walks & Talks - thematically oriented walks through the city under the guidance of experts. These sojourns provided an opportunity to traverse the Baťa cosmos and show what the everyday life of current residents looks like in this monument of Modernity.
Film nights in the Grand Cinema presented historical advertising films, documentaries and productions by young graduates of Zlín’s film academies as well as “Bata-ville: We are not afraid of the future” by British artists Karen Guthrie and Nina Pope - the bittersweet record of an English coach trip to the origins of the Baťa shoe empire. A club night with concerts and VJing in the city’s former grain silo complemented the symposium program.

An event staged by Zipp – German-Czech Cultural Projects, an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation, together with The Brno House of Arts, the Regional Gallery of Fine Arts in Zlín, and the National Gallery in Prague; in association with the Bauhaus Foundation Dessau – the Bauhaus College, the Thomas Baťa Foundation, the Tomáš Baťa University, the Zlín Film Studios, and the Zlín Shoe Museum. With the friendly support of the Region of Zlín and the District Authority of Zlín.

Programme | Photos | Video documentation | Publication | Project partners

Background texts

Bas Princen, Zlín 2009, Photographs
The historical black-and-white photographs, taken at regular intervals after the completion of various stages of construction, shaped the image of Zlín for some time. Many of them taken from an aerial perspective, the photographs captured the vibrant public life of the population: the shots show how, during their summer lunch breaks, workers poured out into the streets and squares on their way to sporting events and rallies. The Dutch photographer Bas Princen takes these photos as the starting material for a new photographic rendering of the city’s early iconography.
Read more

Zlín – Modernity Fulfilled
By Regina Bittner

A whole city for a shoe factory. The entrepreneur Tomáš Baťa threw down the gauntlet to the leftist avant-garde with Zlín in Moravia. He had a giant laboratory for communal life and work built in the 1920s and 1930s. This “city of functionalism” was trimmed for efficiency right down to the very last detail. Everyone seemed to be equal, albeit not in the sense of an anti-capitalist utopia, but quite the contrary – equal in serving the Fordist assembly-line production. Regina Bittner explains the traditions upon which the ideal city was based and why today it should not be turned into a museum.
Read more

Imprint / Print

Zipp – deutsch-tschechische Kulturprojekte /

 

Lebenswelten /


Utopie der Moderne: Zlín /


Kafka /


1968|1989 /

 
Eine Initiative der
Kulturstiftung des Bundes
 

Themenbild

Internationales Symposium Utopie der Moderne: Zlín

19.-23.05.2009, Prag und Zlín

Das tschechische Zlín ist heute zweierlei: ein historisch bedeutendes Baudenkmal, aber auch eine dynamische Stadt mit einem vitalen sozialen und geschäftlichen Leben und der Sitz der Tomáš-Baťa-Universität mit 10.000 Studenten. Vom Schuhkonzern Baťa in den 1920er-Jahren als Werksstadt erbaut, in der Leben und Arbeiten zu einer vollkommenen Symbiose finden sollten, trägt Zlín ein bedeutendes architektur- und ideengeschichtliches Erbe mit sich, das noch heute überall zu spüren und abzulesen ist.

Zlín ist ein Musterbeispiel für eine Planstadt, in der das ganze Leben, also Wohnen, Bildung und Freizeit, auf ein einziges Ziel – in diesem Fall die Effizienz einer rasant expandierenden Schuhfabrik – hin ausgerichtet war. Das macht seine aktuelle Relevanz für Stadtplaner und Architekten aus. Mitten im südöstlichen Mähren gelegen, ist diese moderne Planstadt in Europa einzigartig. Nach Henry Fords Vorbild fabrizierten die Arbeiter am Fließband das Produkt Schuh, das der Marke Baťa bald zu weltweiter Verbreitung verhelfen sollte.

Das mit hochkarätigen internationalen Wissenschaftlern besetzte Symposium ging der Frage nach, inwieweit sich Zlín für aktuelle Fragestellungen der Stadtplanung und Architektur und damit als Lernmodell für die Zukunft erweisen kann. Denn Zlín ist heute ein irritierender Fall, der weder mit den Kritikmustern der Postmoderne noch mit den Gewissheiten der Moderneverteidiger übereinstimmend in Einklang gebracht werden kann. Es ergeben sich Fragen nach dem Erbe des Fordismus, postsozialistischem Strukturwandel, architektonischem Branding und Corporate Identity – und nicht zuletzt nach dem Verbleib des sozialutopischen Denkens für unsere Gegenwart.

Diese Überlegungen wurden nicht bloß abstrakt angestellt, sondern durch Eindrücke vor Ort intensiviert. Daher war das Symposium kein geschlossenes Veranstaltungsformat, sondern es wurde durch sogenannte „Walks & Talks“ – thematische Stadtspaziergänge mit Expertengesprächen – ergänzt. Diese boten Gelegenheit zu einer intensiven Begehung des Kosmos Baťa und zeigten, wie sich der Alltag der Bewohner heute in diesem Denkmal der Moderne gestaltet. Filmnächte im Großen Kino präsentierten historische Werbefilme, Dokumentationen und Produktionen von jungen Absolventen der Zlíner Filmschulen sowie das humorvolle Roadmovie „Bata-ville: We are not afraid of the future“ der britischen Künstlerinnen Karen Guthrie und Nina Pope. Eine Clubnacht mit Konzerten und VJing im ehemaligen Getreidesilo der Stadt begleitete das Programm des Symposiums.

Eine Veranstaltung von Zipp – deutsch-tschechische Kulturprojekte, einer Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, mit dem Haus der Kunst in Brno, der Bezirksgalerie für bildende Kunst in Zlín und der Nationalgalerie in Prag; in Zusammenarbeit mit Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau – Bauhaus Kolleg, Thomas Bata Foundation, Tomáš Baťa-Universität, Filmstudios Zlín und Schuhmuseum Zlín. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Zlíner Region und der Statutarstadt Zlín.

Programm | Bilder | Videodokumentation | Publikation | Projektpartner


Hintergrundtexte

Bas Princen, Zlín 2009, Fotografien
Der niederländische Fotograf Bas Princen nimmt die historischen Schwarz-Weiß-Aufnahmen von Zlín zum Ausgangsmaterial für eine neue fotografische Übersetzung der frühen Stadtikonographie: Er porträtiert Zlín aus einem Blickwinkel, der die Aura der Architekturen festhält, aber auch die Spuren ihres Gebrauchs. In seinen Bildern stehen die wechselhafte Vergangenheit, die Gegenwart und Anklänge an eine nicht allzu ferne Zukunft nebeneinander. In diesem Spannungsfeld soll auch das aktuelle Denken und Sprechen über Zlín seinen Ort haben. Princens fotografische Momentaufnahmen können als Rahmen für die im Titel „Utopie der Moderne: Zlín“ gefassten Diskurse dienen.
Weiter



Zlín – die erfüllte Moderne
Von Regina Bittner

Eine Stadt für eine Schuhfabrik: Der Unternehmer Tomáš Baťa hat der linken Avantgarde mit dem Bau des mährischen Zlín den Fehdehandschuh hingeworfen. In den 1920er- und 1930er-Jahren ließ er ein riesiges Labor für gemeinschaftliches Leben und Arbeiten errichten. Bis in den letzten Winkel war diese „City of functionalism“ auf Effizienz getrimmt. Alle schienen gleich zu sein, allerdings nicht im Sinne einer antikapitalistischen Utopie, sondern ganz im Gegenteil im Dienste der fordistischen Fließbandproduktion. Regina Bittner erklärt, auf welchen Traditionen die Idealstadt Zlín fußt und warum sie heute nicht zum Museum werden soll.
Weiter


Impressum / Drucken